- Minimum wage: Minimum wage in New Jersey is currently $7.25 per hour.
- Overtime pay: Employers must pay hourly workers a rate of one and one-half times the employees' regular rate of pay for all hours worked above 40 hours in one work week.
- Methods of wage payment: The law specifies how and when New Jersey employers must pay their workers. For example, employers must pay wages twice each calendar month on designated paydays. If a designated payday falls on a day the business is closed, employers must pay workers on the immediately preceding workday.
- Employment of minors: New Jersey laws have specific requirements for employers hiring minors under the age of 18. For example, minor employees are prohibited from working more than eight hours in one day, 40 hours in one week, or more than six days in a row. Minors under the age of 16 may not be required to work before 7:00 am or after 7:00 pm.
Monday, August 27, 2012
Wages in New Jersey: Know Your Rights- Bergen County
Eric Aretsky has been practicing law in Bergen County since 1991. After earning his Juris Doctorate from New York Law School in 1990, Mr. Aretsky served as a judicial law clerk for the Honorable Conrad W. Krafte (Retired)
Add my Google profile to your circles.